White paint colours

Hello, hey, hi šŸ‘‹šŸ¼ It feels like it has been forever since I posted a blog post (almost a full year!) – life got a little hectic! I started posting on my blog during the height of the pandemic, when everything was closed and we were locked in our houses (aka I had nothing better to do). My posting screeched to a halt as things re-opened and lockdowns were lifted, which also happened to align with us taking a leap into house hunting! I plan to post a dedicated blog explaining all about that journey soon šŸ˜…

So here I am months later, fully moved in and settled into our new dream home. And along with that I have hundreds of ideas and projects planned!! It is by no means a ā€œfixer upperā€ – but I just canā€™t resist adding my own style and aesthetic everywhere.

Our new home is currently painted in neutral cool grey tones, which is great and very modern. But Iā€™ve loved putting together rooms and moving our furniture and decor into place and making it feel more like us – which inevitably has included painting. It is no shock to anyone that my aesthetic and palette for this house is white, neutral, warm, cozy, modern, and airy. I recently saw a term that I thought defined my style perfectly: modern organic. We have refreshed 4 rooms in our house so far, and I wanted to start with white walls in all of them. That way I can add accent walls and different textures as we settle in more.

Main Bedroom

Picking white paint colours has been more challenging than I thought. The first room we painted was our bedroom, and I bought two different white paints to try: Benjamin Moore Chantilly Lace (left swatch), and Benjamin Moore Decoratorā€™s White (right swatch). I was aiming for a very neutral, bright white. With the swatches on the wall Decoratorā€™s was showing very grey toned and a little dull, whereas Chantilly Lace was a true bright white – exactly what I was going for: neutral and airy.

You can see the slight variation – the right swatch is a little more grey (Decoratorā€™s White) vs. The left swatch is bright white (Chantilly Lace)

https://www.instagram.com/p/CU7ufs1rxXW/?utm_medium=copy_link

Guest Bathroom

The second room I painted was our guest bathroom, it being a smaller space and the floor tiles having brown shades I played it safe and just used Behr Ultra Pure White in semi gloss. I didnā€™t want any yellow hues or grey peaking through. I also already had a gallon of it on hand so it was win-win.

Sneak peek of our guest bathroom makeover šŸ‘€ Walls painted Behr Ultra Pure White.
Waiting on some wall patching to be done 100%!!

Home Office

After these two projects I decided I would paint my office. I had it in my head that I didnā€™t want pure white in this room. I didnā€™t want it to feel too sterile and stark. I swatched two new white paint colours: Behr Palais White and Behr Solid Opal. Along with these I swatched my other test jars from Benjamin Moore, but instantly ruled them out. Solid Opal was reading VERY pink in my office. It is a very dimly lit room, with North-East exposure, so little sunlight throughout the afternoon.

Palais White was a beautiful creamy white, with definite yellow undertones. But it has a cozy antique feel to it, and really warms up the room.

Sneak peek of my office makeover šŸ‘€ walls painted Behr Palais White.
Waiting on a light fixture to be delivered to finish and reveal!

Living Room

After hearing that our main floor couch was delayed, I decided to seize the opportunity to paint our huge main room. The ceilings are slanted up to 18 feet, and we werenā€™t even sure if it was possible to do ourselves. But once I had the visualization in my head there was no turning back! Because this room was so huge with so many windows I wanted to be very sure of the white paint I chose.

I swatched 8 white paints in total:

  1. BM Chantilly Lace is very bright and neutral white. A go-to for many homes. But it was SO bright and stark white against our warm wood flooring and huge windows – a little blinding for this relaxing family room.
  2. BM Decoratorā€™s White was appearing slightly cool grey. Would be beautiful in a bedroom or bathroom.
  3. Behr Palais White was looking good, but after seeing how yellow it showed in my office I was nervous it would do the same on such a large scale. A pretty antique white, I would say.
  4. Behr Solid Opal – pink/red hue. Just doesnā€™t coordinate with any of our furniture or decor or flooring.
  5. Behr Fresh Popcorn– neutral but with the slightest hint of warmth.
  6. Behr Night Blooming Jasmine – VERY bright (the LRV is very high), slight purple undertones.
  7. BM Swiss Coffee at 75% – this is actually Studio McGeeā€™s go-to for their whole house, but it was just TOO beige in our room. It is very creamy and warm.

After much deliberation I chose Behr Fresh Popcorn. And I love it so much!! It isnā€™t as bright and loud as Chantilly, but no major yellow undertones. I think it will eventually be carried out throughout the first floor.

Walls: Behr Fresh Popcorn
Mid painting, I couldnā€™t wait to snap a picture. Still so much more to be done for this room!

So here is my advice for choosing the best white paint for your space (or any colour for that matter):

  • Swatch many different shades, on different walls. Shadowing and angles can alter the appearance of paints so much.
  • Hold up potential curtains, cushions, or furniture fabric next to your swatches: this was a huge deciding factor in our main room. Once I held up potential future curtains, they very clearly clashed with some swatches.
  • Try to have your desired lighting setup – lamps or overhead etc.
  • Give it a few days. Let the swatches sit for a few days and see how you feel about them in different lighting, weather, and times of day. What you like on first glance may not be your long term decision.
  • Consider how much daylight the room gets – is it east facing or west? Lots of windows or none?
  • Consider the true undertones listed online as well as the LRV – Light Reflective Value. It was interesting to me that although Night Blooming Jasmine was more ā€œpigmentedā€ than Chantilly Lace, because it has a higher LRV it was reflecting the sunlight SO much more. If you pair a higher LRV with huge windows or lots of natural light, you get a very, very bright combination. On the other hand, if your room is very dark and dimly lit a high LRV will help immensely.

I think I will be sharing more of our home in the coming months! So much planned and a few rooms that have great before + after pictures to share šŸ˜Š

Leave a comment